Alex's Evolution II

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Alex's Evolution II

I thought I'd post a few photos of the car I've been working on and racing for the last 4 years. It's an Evo II. When I bought the car it was completely standard, not even a replacement exhaust. Now look what I've done to the poor thing.

This winter we installed a new roll cage, an effort to increase my safety at hillclimbs next season. While the car was apart completely I raised the rear shock towers 2" to lower the car without losing wheel travel. I did this because I'm using CT9A struts and the rears are longer than "ours"

I also pared the body harness and engine harness down to the bare minimum which took about 20 hours.

Some photos of last season- Time attack at Chicago.. See how high the car is at this event..

Last edited by agrabau; 14-07-2017, 04:58 PM.

What an impressive build
    Would love a go,in that!
    Is the power at the wheels?
    Chris

Comment

Thanks Chris! Yes, that output is to the wheels.

Comment

Great work on the Evo, and it sounds like you're being very creative and resourceful to get the best out of the car. Looking forward to reading tales and seeing more pics. When does next season start?

Comment

Dave, thanks. I wish I lived in a warmer climate. Snow last night here in Boston...

I would say that April is the month to shoot for, some time away from now. I plan on having the car "done" at the end of January. We all know how the best plans go to #### and late Jan usually means March 1.

This coming year we will be traveling to Pennsylvania which is about 7 hours away for a couple of their hillclimb events; Giant's Despair and Duryea Hillclimb. Giant's Despair is the oldest constantly running motorsport event in the US and looks to be a great course.

Comment

Boston? Small world. A co-worker of mine was from originally from Boston but now has moved back to Vermont.